

www.Eracism4Ever.com

April 4, 2022



RYAN TURELL WINNER OF THE 2022 TRAVIS GRANT AWARD

NEW ORLEANS, LA -- Yeshiva's Ryan Turell is the recipient of the 2022 Travis Grant award, presented annually to the player with the highest point per-game average in all divisions of college basketball.

The 6-foot-7 senior set the school's all-time single season-scoring record with 786 points, while shooting 58.7% from the field and 46.8% from deep. He scored at least 20 points in 25 out of 29 games and netted at least 30 points nine times during the season. He scored a program all-time single-game best 51 points during YU's victory over Manhattanville College, back on November 28. He averaged with 27.1 points per game.

The Travis Grant award is one of five new awards named after legendary HBCU players, which will highlight the top players in all levels of college basketball. The objective is to recognize the

top student athletes in college basketball, while bringing long overdue attention to some of the best players to ever play the game.

Known as the "Machine Gun" Travis Grant was part of three consecutive NAIA National Championships in four seasons at Kentucky State University (1968-72). As a sophomore he set a school single-game record with 75 points and averaged 35.4 per game while shooting a ridiculous 70% from the field. He never shot less than 60 percent in any of his four seasons.

As a senior he averaged 39.5 points per game and became the first small college player to win the Lapchick Trophy for College Basketball Player of the Year award. He graduated as the all-time and all-division scoring leader in college basketball history with 4,045 points.

THE AWARD COMMITTEE

Kenny Blakeney (Howard)

Mike Boynton (Oklahoma State)

Jason Crafton (UMES)

Joe Dwyer (CollegeInsider.com)

Arthur Hightower (Los Angeles Chargers)

Cleo Hill, Jr. (Winston Salem State)

Donte' Jackson (Grambling)

James Jones (Yale)

Robert Jones (Norfolk State)

Jamie Kachmarik (Former NCAA Coach)

Angela Lento (CollegeInsider.com)

Eugene Marshall (Hampton)

Ryan Odom (Utah State)

David Patrick (Oklahoma)

Kelvin Sampson (Houston)

Gary Stewart (Stevenson)

Willis Wilson (Victory Sports)

Rich Zvosec (Central Florida)

